Access to the full content is only available to members of institutions that have purchased access. If you belong to such an institution, please log in or find out more about how to order.


Print

Contents

Keynes, John Maynard (1883–1946)

DOI
10.4324/9780415249126-Q053-1
DOI: 10.4324/9780415249126-Q053-1
Version: v1,  Published online: 1998
Retrieved July 21, 2019, from https://www.rep.routledge.com/articles/biographical/keynes-john-maynard-1883-1946/v-1

Article Summary

Keynes is best known as an economist but, in the tradition of John Stuart Mill and William Stanley Jevons, he also made significant contributions to inductive logic and the philosophy of science. Keynes’ only book explicitly on philosophy, A Treatise on Probability (1921), remains an important classic on the subject. It develops a non-frequentist interpretation of probability as the key to sound judgment and scientific reasoning. His General Theory of Employment, Interest and Money (1936) is the watershed of twentieth-century macroeconomics. While not, strictly speaking, a philosophical work, it nonetheless advances distinct readings of rationality, uncertainty and social justice.

Print
Citing this article:
Schabas, Margaret. Keynes, John Maynard (1883–1946), 1998, doi:10.4324/9780415249126-Q053-1. Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Taylor and Francis, https://www.rep.routledge.com/articles/biographical/keynes-john-maynard-1883-1946/v-1.
Copyright © 1998-2019 Routledge.

Related Searches

Periods

Related Articles